Our Tweeting student is now a fully-fledged radiographer

Earlier in the year I reported on how third year student, Hannah Kearsley, had embraced the world of Twitter and Social Media to network with other professionals. Now, having qualified, she’s back  again sharing her reflections on how it feels to be a fully-fledged radiographer.


My transition from student to newly qualified radiographer

Hannah 2.pngAfter being qualified for two months I thought it was an appropriate time to reflect on my transition from a third year student to a fully fledged radiographer.

The experience has been daunting to say the least; having to justify X-ray requests and accept my own images. I also decided to leave the hospital where I trained and start at Warrington and Halton NHS Foundation Trust to have a fresh start; this meant I also had to learn lots of new departmental protocols and meet lots of new people.

“Fully prepared”

Having trained at the University of Salford, I felt fully prepared to enter the world of work and X-ray a whole range of patients using a variety of equipment. Although the reality of walking around with a mobile machine on unfamiliar wards is still slightly daunting, however I am learning to enjoy working by myself and making my own decisions, as opposed to relying on other radiographers. I am still nervous about theatre but I feel as though my confidence will grow significantly in the upcoming months.

“my favourite part of being a radiographer so far is being able to work with students”

Hannah 3I think my favourite part of being a radiographer so far is being able to work with students. I feel as though I can really relate to them and really enjoy teaching and supporting them. It is a great to see how far I have come myself in the past three years and that I can now pass on things that I have taught to others. I am looking forward to working closely with the Clinical Tutor and creating tutorials with the students; I believe this will also help with my CPD.

After reading Baruch’s “5 tips for new rads” I understood that all newly qualified radiographers felt the same and that it takes time to settle in. The staff at Warrington Hospital have been very welcoming and it was great to start alongside 4 other new Band 5 radiographers. I believe that leaving the hospital where I trained has allowed me to build more confidence within myself and my radiographic skills.

The University of Salford did a great job in preparing myself and the rest of my cohort for full time work and I love my job even more than I thought I would!


It’s wonderful to hear how our graduates are getting on. Are you a graduate who’d like to share your experiences? We’d love to hear from you. Email me at l.robinson@salford.ac.uk. This is a great way to get started with writing and you can add it to your CV!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Olivia says:

    Hi, I’m an aspiring radiographer in my last year of a levels, I had a few questions I would be so greatful if you could answer, please email me if you have any spare time !!

    Like

  2. leslierob10 says:

    Plenty of spare time to support a potential new student. How can we help, Olvia?

    Like

Leave a Reply

